Quote Of The Day

And There’s a sign…  You have read it I assume, You know?  The sign that says “Do not, under any circumstances, open this door”?

Of course I’ve read it, why d’yer think I want it opened?

Er… why?

To see why they wanted it shut, of course.*

*This exchange contains almost all you need to know about human civilization.  At least the bits of it that are now under the sea, fenced off or still smoking.

I love this.  It’s from the book Hogfather by Terry Pratchett.  I think if anyone ever made a collection of the best quotes ever written it would be almost entirely comprised of quotes from Terry Pratchett, P. J. O’Rourke, Thomas Sowell and myself (because I think I’m funny and insightful).

For people who have read the book you might have noticed I removed a few things, you might also have noticed I have removed nothing that would change the joke in any way,  so don’t even start with the Nerd Rage.

3 Comments

  1. The “No” that is really a “Yes” or a “Please Do” is indeed a touchstone of civilization. This is precisely what is meant by the Law.
    TOG

  2. It’s true, if you see such a sign, you want to know what’s so darn terrible on the other side.

  3. My guess is zombies or Nancy Pelosi, either way it’s not going to be a good time.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

