Chris Matthews Forgets Obama Is Black

“Five little words — “I forgot he was black” — have exposed a contradiction in the idea of a post-racial nation.

The comment came from MSNBC host Chris Matthews after President Barack Obama’s State of the Union speech Wednesday.

“He is post-racial, by all appearances,” the liberal host said on the air. “I forgot he was black tonight for an hour. You know, he’s gone a long way to become a leader of this country, and past so much history, in just a year or two. I mean, it’s something we don’t even think about.”

The staunch Obama supporter meant it as praise, but it caused a rapid furor, with many calling the quote a troubling sign that blackness is viewed — perhaps unconsciously — as a handicap that still needs to be overcome.

Apparently, Matthews forgot to ask black people if they WANT to be de-raced.”

First off I would like to say that if Matthews really “forgot he was black” he would not have mentioned the fact that Obama is black (or part black anyway) in the first place.  Because he would have really forgot, or in reality would not have thought about it anyway and not said anything about it.  This comment is idiotic on so, so many levels.

So it’s the post-racial America, and because of that you forgot the president is black, but remembered he was black long enough to realize you had forgotten he was black since he wasn’t robbing you for crack rock, something that might indicate that he was in fact black?  Does that about sum up all the stupid or is there more in there I’m missing?

Now before anyone else wants to get annoyed by the racism – intentional or otherwise – in this comment just remember this;  Matthews is an idiot, you don’t get angry with a baby for shitting it’s pants right? So there is no point in getting angry at Matthews for saying something this stupid.

I have some questions about this whole mess:

1.  While we are on the subject of people forgetting Obama is black does anyone still remember he is also white?

2.  Is it really “post-racial America” if we keep bringing up race every 5 seconds?

Discuss…

.

I hate it here…

6 Comments

  1. Chris Matthews, as far as I can tell, tends to speak to a white, working-class, middle-aged audience, the core of those who watch his weekday show I presume. This comment probably made sense to them. He doesn’t seem worried about it.
    TOG

  2. Chris Matthews forgets Obama is Black and sometimes I forget Chris Matthews is an imbecile. Thank you for reminding me.

  3. TOG, I understand what you are saying but I don’t believe one should be in the habit of speaking to (fill in the blank) especially when it’s race. I don’t accidentally make racially insensitive comments because I am trying to talk to a “white, working-class, middle-aged audience” I make them because I intend to offend someone humorously, or at least my idea of humor, something I blame on Monty Python, In Living Color and Mystery Science Theater. Matthews is supposed to be journalist, he is supposed to talk to everyone not one segment of the population. I however am an asshole that has a blog I write while drunk, yes it’s not all humor, but other than sometimes when I get really annoyed at something it’s all for fun. Yes I offend people, I try to offend everyone, and that’s what I do. While people do still think about race the idea that all “white, working-class, middle-aged” people think like that is absurd, it might make sense to some people but I can’t see that many people with a functioning brain asking themselves anything but “WTF”? The comment makes no sense, non, even one of the morons from the KKK would be asking “how do you forget someone is black”? It’s not racist to remember someone is black any more than it is sexist to remember someone is female, it’s only wrong when you care about it. Now the reason I don”t think what he said was offensive was because I don’t believe in being offended by ignorance.

  4. Matthews is about as much a journalist as I’m a tree-toad. He’s an actor playing a part. And most of the time, the few times I’ve seen him, he does it pretty well. Look, we’re talking about him. This is the point: this is not NEWS.
    TOG

  5. It might not be news but I find it funny, and while Matthews might not be a real journalist he does play one on tv, and considering that there are few real journalists left it’s what we are going to have to deal with for a while.

  6. Glad to hear there was an uproar, Matthews revealed a bit of himself, when he sees a black man, he sees thug, coke dealer, scumbag, loser etc. That’s what you call stereotyping leftards.

    One of the things I find shameful about the left is that they voted for Obama simply because he was black, nothing to do with his record or ability, they gave him their vote because they thought he needed it, because he couldn’t earn it.

    If that isn’t the ultimate insult to blacks, I don’t know what is.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

