Yakuza 3 Will Probably Not Be Coming Out In English: Why Yes, I do Hate You Sega.

Sega is not going to release Yakuza 3 (Ryū ga Gotoku 3) in English.  Fuck you!  Maybe more than 40,000 people in America would have bought Yakuza 2 had you actually tried to promote the thing!  But nooooooo, you didn’t did you?  Now because you don’t think Yakuza 2 sold well enough (because you didn’t tell us it existed, it’s called a “Marketing Department” you morons) you will not produce an English translation (something you could promote in several countries and not just the US)  of Yakuza 3 or Ryū ga Gotoku Kenzan! (a alternate story line that came out before 3 and was set in the past with different characters, sometimes misnamed Yakuza 3).

OK, there might still be hope:

July 31, 2009.

“At this time, we can not confirm nor deny that Yakuza 3 will be coming over to the states. The statement that has been quoted in the news was this person’s own opinion and does not reflect the company’s stance on the matter. We will keep you posted on any new developments regarding this title.”

Or here:

September 17, 2009.

“For the past few months, various comments from Sega have people hoping for a Western release of Yakuza 3 bummed. Today, however, things are sounding a little more optimistic.

Popping into the comments section of a post on the PlayStation Blog, Sega of America assistant community manager Aaron Webber has said “Yakuza 3 is not cancelled – and the possibility for localizing it does, in fact, still exist.”

“The original news story that went around about Yakuza 3 being declined for the US was false, and localizing the game still remains a big point of discussion for many people here at SEGA, and especially those of us on SEGA’s community team.”

“I know it’s far from an announcement, but I just felt you should know that the chance does still exist.”

Nice. For what it’s worth, here’s what we’ve heard: that Sega are looking for somebody else to localise the game, take the risk, similar to how Capcom handles the release of GTA in Japan.”

Yeah, we will get it in 15 years wont we?

Or we wont:

September 29, 2009

“Sega’s marketing man Ray Almeda says that Yakuza 3 is not coming out in the United States. It seems that they’re convinced that the game won’t sell here, says Examiner. Seeing as how Yakuza 2 only sold about 40,000 copies here in the US, I can kind of see where they’re coming from.”

I really think they are either fucking with people to build up the support or that every other asshole is spouting off and no one really knows what the fuck is going on.  Seriously I don’t want to have to get the Japanese copy and dupe one of my friends into sitting around my house all fucking day watching me play this game so I can get them to translate everything for me.  It might work for a bit but sooner or later no matter how much beer I bribe them with they will either get bored and leave to go do something else or will pass out.

Sega, do yourself a favor and just release the game in English so I don’t have to come down to your headquarter (I know where it is and don’t live far away) and make an ass of myself in your lobby.  Do you really need to have a half drunk nerd showing up at your Corporate Headquarters every day demanding to know who is responsible for my not having this game right now?  Think about it, I don’t even have a PS3, the only reason I wanted one is because I could play this game. I can play Silent Hill on the Xbox 360, something my friends keep trying to get me to buy so we can fuck around on the Xbox Live shit.  I don’t want to buy a 360, I really don’t but you are forcing my hand you bastards!  Think about what Sony is going to do to you when they find out you forced me to go to the Dark Side!*

Seriously watch the trailer for the game it’s longer than most movie trailers:

Must have game, must have now!!!!

I hate it here…

UPDATE: Yes They will release it.  And no stopping it this time.  I won!!!

.

*To elaborate on the “Dark Side” comment I would have to say while both Sony and Microsoft are probably evil and regularly kill and drink the blood of the innocent for fun  I should have said “Forced me to go to the even Darker Side” since Microsoft is the only one of the two that actually has a corporate office in Hell, they also created Windows Vista if you needed more proof.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

