Internet Tests: Politics, Idiocy And A Good Beer

I was taking one of those online tests to see your political orientation and I think it’s a little off.  I don’t think all the test questions were very good and there was no way to pick neither on any of the questions.  I have taken it before as a joke and thought it was silly but I got to thinking about it while commenting on Afrocity’s blog and figured I just write a post about it here than put all of this crap into her comments section.  Anyway, I am going to go through some of the worse questions on it.  Mind you I took the questions right off the site and did not correct for any spelling or grammatical errors so I don’t want to hear it, unless it’s my error and not theirs, even then I still might not care.

Well let us start already:

“If economic globalisation is inevitable, it should primarily serve humanity rather than the interests of trans-national corporations?”

I can’t pick neither.  Can’t it serve both?  Should it serve either?  In my opinion it should be about giving both the freedom to do what they need to do and not hinder either while making sure neither can wrong the other.  But in this case should I say I disagree since I’m for Capitalism and every time people talk about “serving humanity” it ends up being at the expense of others (who are part of humanity)  such as wealth redistribution.

“The enemy of my enemy is my friend?”

Sometimes yes, sometimes no.

“People are ultimately divided more by class than by nationality?”

I think it’s both the same.  I think it can have more to do with culture much of the time.

“Governments should penalise businesses that mislead the public?”

How is this a left-right argument, isn’t fraud, fraud?

“A genuine free market requires restrictions on the ability of predator multinationals to create monopolies?”

A company can only become a monopoly by government mandate that stops competition or by creating a superior product and continuing to make it better than all the competition so that people wont go someplace else and technically that is not a monopoly but can get close such as iPods (you know you have one) .  So while I would say I agree with this I think there is a lot more to think about than simple “evil company”.  A question like this could take a dissertation to answer.

“All authority should be questioned?”

Also I don’t think this is a left-right question, if you say yes it will put you on the left if you say no it puts you on the right.  But if you are a communist you don’t question authority because they shoot you.

“Schools should not make classroom attendance compulsory?”

Not a left-right question and would also require a dissertation to answer on any side.  What happened to free will?  If we are going to make everyone pay for public education maybe we should send a bill to the students for any class they fail?

“It’s natural for children to keep some secrets from their parents?”

Not a left-right question.  It’s not even a political one.

“When you are troubled, it’s better not to think about it, but to keep busy with more cheerful things?”

Not Political. It’s a pointless question.  Any side could say both yes or no.

“What’s good for the most successful corporations is always, ultimately, good for all of us?”

Can be both Yes and No.  It’s called ” situational”.

“In a civilised society, one must always have people above to be obeyed and people below to be commanded?”

Yes and No.  We have rules for a reason, and put people in charge of things for a reason.  The reason is not always good but it’s not always bad.  This can only be true if you believe in some form of totalitarian government something I would say is never what I would call “civilized”.

“Abstract art that doesn’t represent anything shouldn’t be considered art at all?”

Not Political. It’s a pointless question.  It’s about personal taste.  I personally think most abstract art is crap.  I also think Van Gogh’s The Starry Night is brilliant and his Wheatfield with Crows is shit.  I also enjoy the art in comic books.  To me most modern art sucks a fat one, much of it I can’t understand how it’s even called art.  Kind of like people calling most of the shit on MTV or the radio “music”.  It’s not.

“The businessperson and the manufacturer are more important than the writer and the artist?”

If I check yes I’m right-wing if I check no I’m left-wing.  Bullshit question since It depends on the situation.  However an artist never saved millions of lives, a businessman and a scientist working together have.

“Mothers may have careers, but their first duty is to be homemakers?”

First duty is to be a mother, as it is the first duty of the father to be a father, but if I check no as in, it is not a mother’s first duty to be a homemaker it is assuming I am talking about sexism rather than something else.

“Making peace with the establishment is an important aspect of maturity?”

Cannot be answered until the “establishment” is defined.

“Astrology accurately explains many things?”

Pointless question.  But the answer is still no, no it does not.

“Some people are naturally unlucky?”

Pointless question.

“It is important that my child’s school instills religious values?”

Not political.  Or at least it shouldn’t be.


“Sex outside marriage is usually immoral?”

Too black and white.  Not Political.  Religiously it is, and even non-religious can see the benefits to society of abstinence.  Can we just say it’s better to be abstinent till marriage without turning it into a “pervert” vs “religious fanatic” argument?

“A same sex couple in a stable, loving relationship, should not be excluded from the possibility of child adoption?”

Yes to a point but mostly no.

“No one can feel naturally homosexual?”

Science has yet to be able to answer this how can anyone else 100% in any direction?  It can be personal belief but that is about as far as we can go.

“These days openness about sex has gone too far?”

11-year-old girl gives birth…  Need I say more?  OK, the question is more social than political and plus there is some middle ground, not much but there is some.

On to the end:

Really I think a lot of the test is bullshit, but I guess it’s better than everyone calling each other a fascist all day even if they have no idea what it really means other than “Bad”.  Oh it might be bad but there is a little more to it than that.  Now we can all fight about what little square we got on a silly test.  Granted the test is at least better than the strait line people used to use for this sort of thing, but it could use some work, granted I think it would end up like a collection of interweaving spider webs and all sorts of other unmanageable silliness to really to show the truth but I’m not going to bother trying to make that one, I have dinner to cook, beer to drink and  books to read.

I hate it here, and so does Deus Ex Machina who is still recovering from the tentacle attack.  Poor girl, I tried to bring her flowers and some hot soup but she wouldn’t stop shooting at people who got close to her house.

Fucking Llamas…

1 Comment

  1. I agree that the test was pointless. It asks questions that sometimes require explanations but forces you to pick “yes” or “no.” Then it asks absolutely ridiculous questions that are not politcally relevant at all, but more relevant to popular culture. How the hell is astrology related to politics? Just ask me if I’m a hippie and I can check “NO.”

    Anyways, I enjoy reading your politically incorrect viewpoints.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

