Book Reviews Of the Damned: Victorian Love and The Walking Dead

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies

I read Pride and Prejudice and Zombies the other day, a collaboration between the author Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith, well it was sort of a collaboration since one of the authors is dead and as far as I know not yet a hunting the sweet, sweet brains on the man who turned her book into a comedic and Victorian version of a Romero film.  Although Ms. Austen might be a walking corpse giving out writing tips to authors trying to turn her book into a collage prank to score some of the tasty head meat from the runaway kids locked in the certain publishers basement, I don’t have any proof of that yet but I’m on to you Mr. Borgenicht.

I loved this book, it worked seamlessly, and while I have not read the original (since I mostly only read non-fiction) I didn’t notice any change in writing style between what was naturally Austen’s work and Grahme-Smith’s (other than the Zombies of course and the more oviouse sexual inuendo).  The book was good, yes it’s a joke but it’s funny.  Considering I have spent way too much time watching bad horror films Mystery Science Theater 3000 and drinking this book was perfect for me, if you are either a current Literature Major in collage or already have a collage degree in it you can spend the next twenty years bitching about it at your job at Starbucks with all the people that got a degree in Philosophy or Woman Studies.

The book ends with discussion questions as if made for a collage class, although much like the whole idea of the book it’s a joke as well.  While I won’t give it away so you’ll have to read it yourself I will tell you that the answer to question 7:

No, not one, in either version.

Now if only someone could find a way to put  zombies or penguins with machine guns into Edward Gibbon’s The History of the Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire I’d be more than half way through it.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

