Some Words From A Cop

I stole this from someone who stole this from someone, I should be arrested…

Well Mr. Citizen, I guess you have figured me out. I seem to fit neatly into the category you place me in. I’m stereotyped, characterized, standardized, classified, grouped, and always typical. I’m the “lousy” cop.

Unfortunately, the reverse isn’t true. I can never figure you out.

From birth you teach your children that I am a person to be wary of…and then you’re shocked when they identify me with my traditional enemy, the criminal.

You accuse me of coddling juvenile criminals, until I catch your kid doing something.

You may take an hour for lunch and several coffee breaks each day, but point me out as a loafer if you see me having just one cup.

You pride yourself on your polished manners, but think nothing of interrupting my meals with your troubles.

You raise hell about the guy who cuts you off in traffic, but let me catch you doing the same thing and I’m picking on you.

You know all the traffic laws, but never got one ticket you deserved.

You shout “Foul!” if you observe me driving fast enroute to an emergency call, but literally raise hell if I take more than ten seconds responding to your call.

You call it “part of my job” if someone strikes me. But its “police brutality” if I strike back.

You wouldn’t think of telling your dentist how to pull a badly decayed tooth, or your doctor how to take out your appendix, but you are always willing to give me pointers on law enforcement.

You talk to me in a manner and use language that would assure a bloody nose from anyone else, but you expect me to stand there and take it without batting an eye.

You cry, “Something has to be done about all the crime!” but you can’t be bothered with getting involved.

You’ve got no use for me at all, but, of course, it’s OK if I change a tire for your wife, deliver your baby in the back seat of my patrol car on the way to the hospital, save your son’s life with mouth-to-mouth resuscitation, or work many hours overtime to find your lost daughter.

So, Dear Citizen, you stand there on your soapbox and rant and rave about the way I do my job, calling me every name in the book, but never stop a minute to think that your property, your family, or maybe your life might depend on one thing – me, or one of my buddies.

Yes, me, the lousy cop.

– Author unknown

H/T to Mel, it had to get stollen and reposted but I’ll blame it all on my parents, racism or yo Mama (who I would like to speak to outside) when they come for me.

5 Comments

  1. I found your article very thought provoking. Most times we accuse cops of who they are not. I have to agree with the many situations you outlined.

    We need to respect cops more.

    They do a hell of a duty that we do not appreciate them for.

  2. it’s so hard to lose sight of the good ones when a few bad ones get publicity — thanks for the reminder

  3. Hi. I’m here randomly. This seems to be a blog for cynical young conservatives. I’m a cynical young liberal… If you can say there’s a problem with people in general, then that problem must be found in policemen and soldiers at least as often. In efforts to achieve their quotas, police often search people illegally. Two people I know, both drug addicts, have been illegally searched, and then sent to jail for possession. A not-so-good policeman will also abuse his power by harassing innocent people who offend his personal sensibilities. A cop once made me stand up and sit down several times while drunk and handcuffed, just to watch me fall over. American cops are also very jittery. Just try getting out of your car next time you get pulled over. In Germany, they’ll greet you calmly.

    Being feared and disdained is just part of being a cop in America, not because non-cops are selfish, but because many people have had bad experiences with them, some worse than others. Can you really blame someone for hating cops if they’ve been hit by them, yelled at by them, or treated like a piece of trash in your time of need. My friend overheard (from the back of a cop car) a fat white cop call a black family crossing the street “fucking peasants,” and this guy was bragging about his recent promotion.

    Cops are just people, but all people have that seed of lousiness in their heart. Being a cop doesn’t kill it. Sometimes the power rush can just make it stronger.

  4. Well said Letters.

  5. Wait, let me get this straight….TWO DRUG ADDICTS were SENT TO JAIL for POSSESSION??? But the search was illegal?? I really must ask how that search was illegal. Why is it an illegal search if they’re already doing something illegal? Would they call foul if they weren’t drug addicts, or didn’t have ILLEGAL substances on them? No! They would have WILLINGLY emptied their pockets, and been on their way. I know I do…every time I walk through a security checkpoint at the airport, I take off my shoes, throw my personal belongings on a conveyor belt and step through the metal detector. Do you know why? BECAUSE I’M GOING ON FUCKING VACATION! I’m not there doing anything illegal.

    I’ve spoken about this before, but there is absolutely NO GUARANTEED “RIGHT” to privacy. Bill of rights, Constitution, Amendments, NO WHERE in our founding documents did our founding fathers provide us with the right to privacy.

    “In an April 2009 United States Supreme Court decision (5-4), the US Supreme Court ruled that once a suspect is placed under arrest and handcuffed, police may search the suspect’s vehicle without a search warrant only if the suspect is within reach of the vehicle, or if the police reasonably believe that evidence can be found in the vehicle that will prove the offense for which the suspect was placed under arrest.”***

    “If a police officer observes criminal activity, or activity which would lead a reasonable person to conclude that it was of a criminal nature, or if an informant provides sound and verified information to the police officer about a criminal activity, then a subsequent seizure is reasonable and permissible. If at the time of a stop, a police officer sees or has a reasonable belief that the suspect is armed, the officer may “pat down” the suspect and seize any weapons that could cause harm to the officer or another person during an arrest. “***

    ***Quoted Source: http://www.vanwagnerwood.com/CM/Custom/Search-Seizure.asp

    Not sure if you’re correct in your assumption about the German police. As I 1, have never been there, and 2, having nothing but your word that that is the case.

    Yes, cops in America are “jittery” we just had three police officers shot and killed here in PA who were trying to ring the doorbell of a woman who called 9-1-1 about a domestic disturbance in her home. The next officer that approached the door trying to get his “lousy cop buddy” out of harms way was shot and killed. Two of the three “lousy jittery cops” left behind a wives and several children that will never have their “lousy cop fathers” walk them down the aisle at their weddings, no pictures of with them before they go to prom or start college or graduate from elementary school.

    You say that it’s the “power rush”, I call it survival instinct. Maybe if those three cops had just started shooting they’d still be alive, on trial, in jail and never be cops again, but alive. Damn those lousy cops!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

